New Music: Mariah Carey – ‘A No No’

It’s a no no. With two weeks until her album drops, Mariah Carey unleashes yet another song off Caution. The kiss-off anthem “A No No” features a familiar sample of Lil’ Kim’s “Crush on You” remix featuring The Notorious B.I.G. and Lil Cease.

Over the sped-up instrumental, MC sends her man packing. “I ain’t even mad, no, not like before / Off with your head / Now slither out the door / Snakes in the grass / It’s time to cut the lawn,” she sings before reprising Biggie’s classic hook: “He’s a slut, he’s a ho, he’s a freak / Got a different girl every day of the week.”

“A No No” follows “GTFO,” “With You,” and “The Distance” off Carey’s 15th studio album Caution, her first since 2014’s Me. I Am Mariah… The Elusive Chanteuse, which arrives Nov. 16. She revealed the tracklisting by mailing her fans FedEx packages with each song title. The 10 tracks include appearances from Slick Rick and Blood Orange (“Giving Me Life”), Gunna (“Stay Long Love You”), and Ty Dolla $ign (“The Distance”).

Starting next year, Carey will embark on her “Caution World Tour” in support of the album. The 22-city North American trek kicks off Feb. 27 in Dallas and wraps April 6 in Bethlehem, Penn.

Caution Tracklisting

1. “GTFO”
2. “With You”
3. “Caution”
4. “A No No”
5. “The Distance” (feat. Ty Dolla $ign)
6. “Giving Me Life” (feat. Slick Rick & Blood Orange)
7. “One Mo’ Gen”
8. “8th Grade”
9. “Stay Long Love You” (feat. Gunna)
10. “Portrait”

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *